LA people are weird, LA sign spinners are weirder

Posted: August 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

So I’ve noticed since living in LA that a lot of people are employed by stores to hold signs outside. I’ve also noticed that they don’t just hold them, they dance to music on their ipods while spinning these signs around that are shaped like arrows. Now, I don’t know all about but the physics of sign making but I’m assuming these arrow shaped signs spin better than square shaped ones because some of them are really good. Makes me think. There must be a sign spinning school for over achievers.  But, regardless of what size sign they are holding or how good they are…what is the motivation to dance and smile only to look ridiculous. I can’t imagine anyone in their right mind being super excited to stand outside a Domino’s for hours at a time and keep the excitement of spinning an awkwardly shaped sign around to people who don’t care. I might be able to last 3 seconds before realizing that I look stupid would rather be extremely poor than to allow myself to be a dancing sign spinner. I don’t know what they get paid but I’m thinking they might get minimum wage plus drugs to keep the happiness going day by day. LA is strange enough on its own without having these weird people galivanting around the streets.

Comments
  1. Jamie says:

    It never occurred to me that signs spinner is not an occupation everywhere else too.

Leave a comment